Crowned world champion last Saturday for the eleventh time in his career, Teddy Riner benefited despite himself from a refereeing error. The International Federation of judi officially admitted it on Tuesday.
Last weekend in Doha, Teddy Riner has a bit more judo history. Winner of the Russian Inal Tasoev in the final of the +100 kg category, the Frenchman won the eleventh world title of his career. But a communication from the International Federation of judi (FIJ) came to taint this title somewhat. This Tuesday, the body recognized that a refereeing error had been made during the fight. An error that should have prevented Teddy Riner from being declared the winner.
The world champion obviously had nothing to do with it, but the press release published on Tuesday by the IJF is clear: on a counter-attack by Tasoev in the golden score, the referees took the decision not to award value (ippon or waza-ari) to Russian. An arbitration choice with serious consequences for Teddy Riner’s opponent. In his press release relayed by RMC, the Federation has therefore made its mea culpa: “ After the competition, taking into account the current arbitration rules and the opinion of judo experts, we find that a value for Tasoev’s counterattack could be assigned. “And to conclude:” The IJF Refereeing Commission deeply apologizes for its decision and indicates that this type of action will be rewarded in the future, according to the current rules of judo. »
Tasoev may have it bad
Inal Tasoev can therefore have it very bad after this lost fight against his tricolor opponent. Depending on the events and if the Russian athletes can finally participate, the 2021 European champion may have the opportunity to take his revenge in a little over a year, during the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.